When a node will send a new join?


#1

I have a node that has joined the network successfully, then, I deleted the node in Lora Server and created it again. I don’t see any re-join, how the node can understand to send again a JOIN?


#2

Hi

the JOIN message is shown after the device does an update to the loraserver.


#3

[quote=“Antonio_Di_Bacco, post:1, topic:3982, full:true”]
I have a node that has joined the network successfully, then, I deleted the node in Lora Server and created it again. I don’t see any re-join, how the node can understand to send again a JOIN?[/quote]

That’s up to the unidentified node’s firmware.

It may be that there’s a way to restart your node that would force this.


#4

I’m using ST LRWAN firmware but I fail to understand how the node can understand that it has to re-join. How does the node know that it has been deleted and added again?


#5

It can’t know that, which is one of the fundamental design problems with the whole idea…

Essentially, the node can only deduce that it might need to join anew if it hasn’t gotten any downlinks recently. Especially if confirmed uplinks or ADR ack requests have gone unanswered.

If you have a way to force-restart your node that may be the most efficient. But the concern you are raising is indeed a serious one in general.