From TTN packet-forwarder to LoRaServer

Hi there,

I’m fairly new with LoRaServer, so sorry in advance for any dumb question :sweat_smile:

Currently, I have a LoRaWAN gateway running with the packet-forwarder and connected to TTN. It’s been working for over a year according to this guide (as you see, I’m using a Raspberry Pi and an iC880A concentrator).

I’m interested in LoRaWAN’s MAC layer so I think that LoRaServer could be a good option to start developing (correct me if I’m wrong). I think it’s possible to adapt my current hardware for that purpose (see this post), but I’d like to know to what extent the TTN-forwarding functionality could be maintained.

In short:

1. How could I adapt the gateway configuration so that messages are forwarded to both ends (TTN and LoRaServer)?
  2. According to the architecture, do I need to implement the LoRa Gateway Bridge apart, or can I do it in the same Raspberry Pi that acts as gateway?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Best Regards,
Celia

Hi,

Q1: not supported for now
Q2: both scenario are supported, it’s your decision…

But if you want to test your GW with LORASERVER, it could be something like this…

In a config with LORA-GATEWAY-BRIDGE running into a virtual server not on the GW.

********* port validation ****************************
login into your LORA-GATEWAY-BRIDGE
su
cd /etc/lora-gateway-bridge
nano lora-gateway-bridge.toml
validate udp_bind = “0.0.0.0:1700” (default port for GW)

port = 1700

************* PI changes for Loraserver **************
login into your PI

cd /opt/ttn-gateway/bin
sudo cp global_conf.json global_conf.json.ttn
sudo cp global_conf.json global_conf.json.loraserver
sudo nano global_conf.json.loraserver

update this section with these parms from lora-gateway-bridge.toml

"gateway_conf": {
    /* change with default server address/ports, or overwrite in local_conf.json */
    "server_address": "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx",   (LORA-GATEWAY-BRIDGE IP)