Beginner needs advice - Packet Forwarder Wirnet Station

Hi,

I’m new to IoT and I could need some advice.

So I have the honor to setup a LoRa system and just to make everything clear I write down the components I will use:

• Kerlink Wirnet Station as the Gateway
  • GlobalSat LS-111P CO2/Temperature/Humidity Detector which is LoRaWAN certified
  • Elsys ERS-sound also LoRaWAN certified
  • tabs movement detector also LoRaWAN certified

At the end of the day I need the complete System, just like the Architecture shows on the website. The Gateway sending information from the devices to our own server. No cloud.

As far as I can tell loraserver.io does exactly that. Since I’m new to IoT, the guides are hard to understand for me.

So I would like to know where to start?

I started reading about MQTT Protocoll and the mosquitto broker. Looks like a few hundred pages maybe. Am I going the right way? Do I need to know that much about MQTT and mosquitto? Because for the server there is much more needed than just mosquitto. I don’t only want to set it up and that’s it. I’d like to understand what I’m doing.

So any advice on what steps to take, what to read or watch, what to try or not, would be such a big help for me.

If possible I would do all these on a Windows machine. If not, on Ubuntu.

Thanks for any help in advance!

Hi Hakan

I am also kind new on IoT and had the same situation a few monts ago.
First of all, it is a interessting topic and its worth it :slight_smile:

Now your question: loraserver does (as far as i know) not run on windows. the other products, like redis, postgres and mqtt (mosquitto) can run on windows machines - even if i would not do that.